My maybe-helpful-maybe-not advice on how to revise and learn

I mentioned in my previous post that I would go into detail about how I learn and what revision techniques I find particularly helpful. Obviously, dyslexia will affect my brain in a completely different way to yours, so please bare in mind that this may or may not help!

Colour, colour, colour and colour. I need colour in order to help me work – black and white simply won’t do it. I haven’t been properly tested, but yellow for me is by far the easiest colour to read and write on. So, what I do is change the page colour of my Word documents (as I type in exams) to yellow, which has definitely improved the speed at which I can write things down in a coherent manner. Also, you can use coloured overlays in order to help you read – I find that yellow makes large paragraphs far easier to break down and understand compared to white.

IMG_5399

Analogies have been a recent discovery of mine. In order to learn my English Literature quotes I have condensed them into unbelievably random analogies to help me memorise them, for example; ‘Hummus Ignites A Fire Which Never Starts To Flame’. I never though I could learn 95 quotes (three sides of A4) in a day (or ever), but I did thanks to these berserk phrases.

IMG_5398

Diagrams and drawings are my saviours when it comes to understanding large complicated processes. I need to be able to see and go through the process visually in order for me to comprehend it – so drawing them out really does help. (It also makes your revision notes look really pretty). Lego is also really helpful. One of my teachers, who is dyslexic herself, showed me the wonders those little plastic bricks can do in order to help understand processes.

IMG_5397

Sticky notes!!! The wall in front of me right now is plastered with them. They’re great if you keep forgetting something. For example, I am useless with definitions or names, so I write them down on sticky notes, stick them on my wall, and whenever I glance up, it jolts my memory and gives me a visual aid to remember.

Go through what you’ve learnt with someone. I make my Mum sit with me, as I go through all the processes I have learnt and that usually shows me myself where I might not have understood something correctly, or if I even know it at all. Its all good reading a textbook and memorising it, but its far more important if you can understand and apply it.

Have fun with how you learn and revise; if you’re not enjoying what you’re doing, it’ll be far more easy for you to get distracted and not actually get anything glued in your brain.

I hope this helps; it took a long time to discover what worked best for me, so be patient with it! Be creative with your options because you are a creative individual.

Leave a Reply

